top of page

The History of QASEL

The Queensland Association of Special Education Leaders was conceived in 1989 when Jo Minchinton, the then president of the Teacher in Charge (TIC) Association, and Peter Davis, President of the Special School Principals’ Association (SSPA), first discussed combining both organisations. In 1990 the Association of Special Education Administrators Queensland (ASEAQ) was born and Vicki Sykes was elected the inaugural President. 

Membership reflected the full range of roles within Special Education. Heads of Special Education - Primary, Secondary and Early Childhood, Deputy Principals and Principals were encouraged to nominate for executive, management and regional councillor roles to represent members working in those positions across the state.

In 2011, ASEAQ undertook a significant constitutional review and the name of the association was changed to the Queensland Association of Special Education Leaders (QASEL). Other significant changes at that time included ensuring that at least one Vice-President is a Head of Special Education Services (or Leader of a Special Education Program),and changes to categories for eligibility for full membership to include those in acting positions and special education leaders working in non-school locations.

Peter Davis ASEAQ and QAEL sign.jpg

QASEL / ASEAQ Presidents Honour Board

  • 1990 - 1995        Vicki Sykes

  • 1996 - 1997         Peter Davis

  • 1998 - 1999        John Enchelmaier

  • 2000 - 2001        Bert Beekhuizen

  • 2001 - 2002        Terri Lipscomb

  • 2003 - 2007       Michael Brett

  • 2008 - 2014        Chesleigh Hargreaves

  • 2015 - 2020        Roselynne Anderson

  • 2021 - current    Ric Day


*The QASEL history page is constructed from the shared knowledge of members. If you have information about ASEAQ / QASEL’s history that would like to share to contribute to this page, please pass it on using the ‘Contact us’ link at the bottom of the website.

bottom of page